Does Shapesharer turn shapeshifter tokens into non-tokens when they become a copy of another creature?

Asked by ThatGuy_OhWhatsHisName 1 month ago

Hey, I think I know the answer to this one but I need confirmation nevertheless. I am thinking yes, the tokens would turn into an copy of the creature of my choosing, losing all its prior types (including token) and gaining the new types of the creature it is copying. Correct me if I am wrong in my assumption and please cite any relevant rules text so I can know why I am wrong. I hope I am right through. Anyway, thanks for your time and help.

Named_Tawyny says... #1

Token is not a creature type.

A Shapeshifter token that became a copy of a card, would still be a token, but would be a token copy of whatever it was copying.

May 2, 2021 12:45 a.m.

Named_Tawyny says... Accepted answer #2

If you do want rules support on this, then Comprehensive rule 108.2b is a good place to start "108.2b Tokens aren’t considered cards—even a card-sized game supplement that represents a token isn’t considered a card for rules purposes."

This is also why 'Token' can't be a card type - since it, by definition, isn't a card.

May 2, 2021 12:51 a.m.

Named_Tawyny Interesting.

May 2, 2021 1:15 a.m.

Please login to comment