Does a Passive ability "Target" a creature?
Asked by Chilled_Irishman 10 years ago
If I use Obelisk of Urd's passive ability of giving +2/+2 to any type of creature, does that count as targeting the creature? I ask this because I'd like to know if It'd trigger the Heroic ability on certain white creatures to give them a further +1/+1.
GoblinsInc says... #2
Also note that things like say Inferno titan's ability wouldn't trigger heroic (assuming you targetted one of your creatures) as it is a triggered ability, not a spell, targetting the object.
September 8, 2014 2:20 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #3
Just a few notes:
First, link all cards in your question.
Obelisk of Urd
Second, they're called static abilities, not passive abilities. The distinction is important because the rules mention static abilities by that name, and you won't find any entries for passive abilities.
GoblinsInc says... Accepted answer #1
No. things only target if they say target or, like aura spells, have targetting written into the rule for that ability. Obelisk of Urd does not fall into these categories, lacking the word target.
114.1a. An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.)Example: A sorcery card has the ability "When you cycle this card, target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn." This triggered ability is targeted, but that doesn't make the card it's on targeted.
114.1b. Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)
114.1c. An activated ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is activated; see rule 602.2b.
114.1d. A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is put on the stack; see rule 603.3d.
114.1e. Some keyword abilities, such as equip and provoke, represent targeted activated or triggered abilities. In those cases, the phrase "target [something]" appears in the rule for that keyword ability rather than in the ability itself. (The keyword's reminder text will often contain the word "target.") See rule 702, "Keyword Abilities."
September 8, 2014 2:17 a.m.