Do equipment's tap abilities stack?

Asked by Mallanaga 13 years ago

if i have 2 Heavy Arbalest equipped on the same creature, does it do 4 damage when tapped?

likewise, if i have 2 Mortarpod s equipped on the same creature, does it do 2 damage when sac'd?

to this extent... is it even legal to have multiple instances of the same equipment on a creature?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

No. When you activate an activated ability, you must pay the activation cost for it. All activated abilities are activated separately, and each ability must have its activation cost paid. Paying one cost does not cover multiple activated abilities.

602.2. To activate an ability is to put it onto the stack and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Only an objects controller (or its owner, if it doesnt have a controller) can activate its activated ability unless the object specifically says otherwise. Activating an ability follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the activation of an ability, a player is unable to comply with any of those steps, the activation is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that ability started to be activated (see rule 716, Handling Illegal Actions). Announcements and payments cant be altered after theyve been made.

It is indeed legal to have multiple identical equipment on a creature.

Note that if you have two equipment which give/have a triggered ability, then once trigger event will activate both abilities. ([Sword of Body and Mind]], for example).

August 19, 2011 3:46 p.m.

Mallanaga says... #2

in this case, the cost is tapping the creature. that is paid once, so only one ability resolves. same for the sac'ing. can't sac the bugger twice, ha.

super...

i'll stick with the tap then sac plan =)

August 19, 2011 4 p.m.

no taping or sacking is a cost of the the equips ability and you cant use the same thing for 2 different costs

same thing if the equipment are giving the creature the ability

August 20, 2011 4:46 p.m.

This discussion has been closed