Desolate Lighthouse and instants
Asked by AlphabetEnthusiast 12 years ago
I've never been especially great at understanding the stack and knowing when I can and cannot play my instants. So lets say I have no cards in my hand and a Desolate Lighthouse on the field with 3 islands and 3 mountains. Could I activate Desolate Lighthouse s ability, draw a Unsummon and then cast the Unsummon before I discard it? Or do I have to discard it before an opportunity like that would come up?
An ability must resolve completely before another spell can be placed on the stack/another ability can resolve. You have to complete all of the ability, discarding the card, before you can cast it.
September 13, 2012 9:09 p.m.
They are correct in saying the ability has to resolve first but MagnorCriol is wrong when he says you have to discard it. You can discard any card in your hand and then play Unsummon but you do have to discard a card first. Even if the cards ability didn't have to resolve first you'd still have to discard a card and CASTING a card isn't considered discarding.
September 14, 2012 3:09 a.m.
MagnorCriol says... #4
DrkNinja, I'm certain I'm not incorrect in this instance.
bhrusson0 stated that he has no cards in hand prior to activating Desolate Lighthouse 's ability. As the ability resolves, he will draw a card, then discard a card. Since he had no cards in hand before the ability resolved, the only card in his hand to satisfy the discard portion of the ability would be the card he just drew.
If he had other cards in his hand when the ability resolved, he would be able to discard one of them instead, then cast the Unsummon he drew. I believe that's what you're getting at, and you're correct, except that specifically for this question he asked about what happens if he had no cards in hand.
September 14, 2012 3:21 a.m.
MagnorCriol, holy shit, my bad. I didn't even see that there, I apologize for that.
That just.... like how do you honestly think you can just be like "fuck rules, I find loop holes" you have to DRAW a card, and then DISCARD a card. The discarding keeps the card balanced and is almost like an extra cost to using it's ability.
September 14, 2012 3:27 a.m.
MagnorCriol says... #6
No problem man. You were correct about everything except that detail, so I figured you just missed that part.
And I think this is more "unfamiliarity with the rules" rather than "trying to find an exploit". He was just making sure he understood when spells can be cast, which to be fair does get hazy every now and then in MtG.
But yeah..."1UR, T: Draw a card" would be pretty dang strong on a land, given how few (worthwhile) effects interact with lands.
MagnorCriol says... Accepted answer #1
Unfortunately, you'd have to discard it. You have to finish resolving ALL of a given ability before you get priority again and can cast spells or activate abilities again. In Lighthouse's case, the entire ability is 'draw, then discard,' so you have to discard the card before anyone can do anything.
September 13, 2012 8:57 p.m.