creatures entering the field at the same time a graft creature does?

Asked by lichunter 9 years ago

my board got wiped but I had marchesa the black rose on the field and a number of other creatures all with a counter on them. marchesa's ability will bring them all back at the same time, one of the creatures is novijen sages. can I graft the counters from the sages onto my other creatures that are entering the field at the same time as the sages?

Tortlewar says... #1

Judge!

I think this is how this goes.

When I read Marchesa I see a delayed triggered ability for each creature that was destroyed. They each have their own delayed triggered ability that brings them back. That means you have control over the order in which they return as all the abilities go on the stack together and you choose the order. Return the sages first and then you have graft triggers to put a counter on each as they return.

October 16, 2016 1:04 p.m.

BlueScope says... Accepted answer #2

Please link all cards relevant to your question: Marchesa, the Black Rose, Novijen Sages

As a rule of thumb, creatures "see" each other entering and leaving the battlefield. All abilities that would trigger based on that do trigger for all creatures involved (this is why all creatures leaving the battlefield at the same time as Marchesa all trigger her ability).

As Tortlewar said, they don't all enter the battlefield at the same time in this case, due to the effect returning them being a delayed triggered ability, ETB abilities trigger immediately at the time a creature enters the battlefield. You get to choose the order in which those triggers go onto the stack, will return creatures to the battlefield in the opposite order (meaning you want to put the ability returning the Sages on the stack last so it resolves first), and each subsequent creature entering the battlefield will trigger the Sages' ability (regardless of whether there's still counters on it). Those abilities are put on top of the stack, which means they resolve before the next creature enters the battlefield, and you get the choice of moving a single counter from the Sages to that creature or not.

October 16, 2016 1:20 p.m.

Note that creatures entering will not trigger the Sage's ability when there are no counters on it. This is because at that point the Sage will be a 0/0 and die as a state based action before any further DTA's resolve.

October 16, 2016 3:59 p.m.

This discussion has been closed