Countering spells to be exiled with Nivmagus Elemental

Asked by Renaud 6 years ago

I cast an instant, exile it with Nivmagus Elemental , then pass priority. My opponent responds to Nivmagus' ability by countering the instant with Dissolve .

What happens?

I'm assuming that since exiling the instant is part of the cost, it won't make a difference (just like you can't destroy a creature in response to it being sacrificed?)

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

You're correct about your assumption, but your process is a little wrong.

Because exiling the spell is part of the cost, your opponent actually can't cast Dissolve at all. By the time your opponent gets priority, the original spell will no longer be on the stack. You also can't respond to costs.

June 27, 2014 12:37 p.m.

GreatSword says... #2

You're correct. Your opponent actually can't even make that play, as by the time he has priority again to respond to the Elemental's ability the spell is already exiled as a cost of putting the ability on the stack.

June 27, 2014 12:38 p.m.

darthfrog says... #3

Because the spell will no longer be on the stack by the time you pass priority, he will not have a spell to counter, so will not be able to cast Dissolve .

As well, even if you want the spell to resolve, pass priority, he counters it, you can then activate Niv's ability to remove the spell from the stack by exiling it. Once Dissolve tries to resolve, it will no longer have a legal target, so it will be countered by game state (so no scry for him/her)

June 27, 2014 12:38 p.m.

darthfrog says... #4

Well, I was late to the party.

June 27, 2014 12:38 p.m.

Renaud says... #5

Thanks for the answers!

@ darthfrog But then if he decides not to counter it, it would now be to late for me to exile it since the spell would resolves

June 27, 2014 1 p.m.

This discussion has been closed