Cipher a Legendary

Asked by Derob90 11 years ago

According to the 2014 rules. "Any time two or more legendary permanents with the same name are controlled by a player, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based action."

So my question is, does this same rule apply to if you Cipher a legendary.

Source: http://wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/%22Legend_rule%22

KrazyCaley says... #1

What do you mean by "cipher a legendary?" The rule applies regardless of whether one of the legendary permanents has a cipher spell encoded on it, but I feel like you mean something else.

July 25, 2013 2:18 a.m.

Derob90 says... #2

If i encode my legendary, and then hit my opponent it creates a copy. Does the copy count as a legendary forcing me to get rid of one?

July 25, 2013 2:20 a.m.

KrazyCaley says... Accepted answer #3

Oh, ok, so you're saying you ciphered something like Stolen Identity and then copied a legendary permanent with it. Yes, tokens created in this manner still fall afoul of the legendary rule, and you'll have to sacrifice all but one of the legendary permanents, including any copies/tokens.

July 25, 2013 2:23 a.m.

Derob90 says... #4

Alright, sounds good. Thanks for a quick response.

July 25, 2013 2:27 a.m.

This discussion has been closed