Char-Rumbler + Elemental Mastery

Asked by Zabin 12 years ago

What exactly happens here?

Anything?

Are there any rulings on this?

Kirtanian says... #1

I don't see any specific rulings but essentially, if you leave the Char-Rumbler unbuffed when you activate the Elemental Mastery ability nothing will happen. If you activate his "fire-breathing" ability at least twice (to make him a 1/3 instead of -1/3) you will be able to gain tokens by activating the ability granted by Elemental Mastery .

Basically, you can't make "negative" tokens.

December 5, 2012 4:27 a.m.

Kirtanei says... #2

I'm guessing Kirtanian is right. In the same sense that you can't deal negative damage.

December 5, 2012 5:10 a.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #3

With a small handful of exceptions (outlined in the rules quote below), the game will treat a negative result of a calculation as a 0 result. No tokens will be made.

107.1b Most of the time, the Magic game uses only positive numbers and zero. You can't choose a negative number, deal negative damage, gain negative life, and so on. However, it's possible for a game value, such as a creature's power, to be less than zero. If a calculation or comparison needs to use a negative value, it does so. If a calculation that would determine the result of an effect yields a negative number, zero is used instead, unless that effect sets a player's life total to a specific value, doubles a player's life total, sets a creature's power or toughness to a specific value, or otherwise modifies a creature's power or toughness.

December 5, 2012 10:40 a.m.

This discussion has been closed