can you sacrifice a 0 toughness creature if it is a mana ability?

Asked by SwiftDeath 13 years ago

I have card:Ashnod's Altar and activate Chimeric Mass with 0 charge counters can i sac him to the altar for 2 colorless mana. the idea is mana abilities don't use the stack so can I use it before SBA.

landot says... Accepted answer #1

605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever he or she has priority, whenever he or she is casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if its in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.

your suggestion doesn't work -- once you activate chimeric mass, you don't get priority again until it has been put in the graveyard by SBA. and if you're in the middle of casting a spell, you don't get priority with which to turn on chimeric mass.

November 10, 2011 6:50 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #2

Mana abilities resolve without having to use the stack, but you still need to have priority to activate them (or you need to be in the "cost-paying window" of the casting/activating process). State based actions are checked right before a player would receive priority, so your Mass is in the graveyard before you can do anything with it.

November 10, 2011 6:52 p.m.

SwiftDeath says... #3

thanks for the quick response this makes my deck more difficult to pull off but still not impossible.

November 10, 2011 7:01 p.m.

This discussion has been closed