Can you flash in morphs?

Asked by eeuhn 10 years ago

Hi everyone, I was recently playing with a morph deck I made with a friend, and wanted to flash in a creature face down using Prophet of Kruphix. He argued that morph was an alternate cost, and couldn't be flashed in. My argument is that it is still a creature with a cost of (3). Who's right?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Although casting a card for its morph cost is casting it for an alternate cost, it also changes the characteristics of that card. You treat the card according to its new characteristics. In this case, that means that it may be cast as though it had flash.

702.36b To cast a card using its morph ability, turn it face down. It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card, with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost. Any effects or prohibitions that would apply to casting a card with these characteristics (and not the face-up cards characteristics) are applied to casting this card. These values are the copiable values of that objects characteristics. (See rule 613, "Interaction of Continuous Effects," and rule 706, "Copying Objects.") Put it onto the stack (as a face-down spell with the same characteristics), and pay 3 rather than pay its mana cost. This follows the rules for paying alternative costs. You can use morph to cast a card from any zone from which you could normally play it. When the spell resolves, it enters the battlefield with the same characteristics the spell had. The morph effect applies to the face-down object wherever it is, and it ends when the permanent is turned face up.

December 22, 2014 11:11 p.m.

This discussion has been closed