Can you cast spells at the end of your untap step, before upkeep triggers?

Asked by Kjartan 3 years ago

I have this strange urge to Olivia machine gun, my 3 Dark Confidant s before I most likely lose the 2 life I have left.

Kjartan says... #1

Figured it out.

November 1, 2015 6:43 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

For the benefit of anyone looking for the answer:

No. No player gets priority during the untap step; the first time players receive priority in a turn is in the upkeep. By the time players receive priority, abilities that trigger at the beginning of the upkeep have already triggered and been placed onto the stack. And lastly, because an ability on the stack exists independently of its source, destroying or otherwise removing the source will not counter or remove the ability. The abilities will still resolve unless you counter them directly or otherwise remove them from the stack.

November 1, 2015 6:50 p.m.

This discussion has been closed