Can Turn / Burn destroy an indestructible creature?

Asked by blackmarker90 12 years ago

My friend has Heliod, God of the Sun and enough devotion on the field to make him a creature. If I play both parts of Turn / Burn on Heliod, God of the Sun will it remove him from the field?

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Yes. In the M14 rules update, indestructible became a keyword. Effects that caused a permanent to become indestructible have received errata to instead give that permanent indestructible.

Because indestructible is a static ability, Turn / Burn will cause an indestructible creature to lose indestructible until end of turn. Heliod, God of the Sun will become a 0/1 vanilla creature until the end of turn. If you fused Turn / Burn , Heliod, God of the Sun will be dealt 2 damage and thus be destroyed as a state-based action.

October 4, 2013 1:22 p.m.

GreatSword says... #2

Yes it will. Fuse cards resolve left to right, so the Turn part will first make him a 0/1 with no abilities (think of it as literally nothing on the card) and then Burn will live up to its name. Heliod would die.

October 4, 2013 1:24 p.m.

blackmarker90 says... #3

Thank you, I was pretty sure that was how it worked, but was just making sure. And it is actually a 0/1 red weird not a colorless Epochalyptik

October 4, 2013 1:26 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

@blackmarker90: I never said it was a colorless or typeless creature. "Vanilla" is MTG slang for "no abilities." The color or type of the creature is irrelevant in this case.

October 4, 2013 1:31 p.m.

blackmarker90 says... #5

Sorry, that was my misreading

October 4, 2013 1:36 p.m.

Quadsimotto says... #6

i learned something here. i Had no idea that fuse cards resolved left to right.It pays to read over older questions in the QnA

October 5, 2013 2:43 a.m.

This discussion has been closed