Can Quirion Ranger's ability be played more than once per turn in certain instances?

Asked by HeadSnipingSam 13 years ago

If you were to use Quirion Ranger 's ability to untap something, then return Quirion Ranger to your hand and play it again, does it count seperately or is it still under the ruling that you have activated its ability already? Also, what if you were to have two Quirion Ranger s out at once? You would be able to use the ability once from each?

TassleMagik says... #1

You can play activated abilities as many times as you want, as long as you can pay the cost. In some cases, though, an ability may specify that you can only activate the ability once per turn, in that case, you could only activate the ability once per turn, even if you somehow manage to remove the creature from the battlefield and then return it.

January 17, 2012 8:45 p.m.

HeadSnipingSam says... #2

But what about multiple copies of the same creature? Each ability is referring to itself and not other creature with the same ability. Therefore you could use each creature's ability once. Am I correct in this regard?

January 17, 2012 8:56 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #3

TassleMagik is incorrect. Whenever a permanent leaves the battlefield, it loses all memory of its time as a permanent except for the purposes of Last Known Information used to handle some triggered abilities on death. When it reenters, even if it is the same card, it is NOT the same permanent. Therefore, you may activate Quirion Ranger 's ability, bounce it, play it again, then activate its ability (since it's not the same permanent anymore).

Quirion Ranger's ability limitation only applies to itself. Other copies of Quirion Ranger will still be able to activate their abilities.

January 17, 2012 9:01 p.m.

HeadSnipingSam says... #4

Thank you, that is what I thought. I just wanted to make sure and now I know.

January 17, 2012 9:35 p.m.

This discussion has been closed