Can mother of runes protect herself when attacking?

Asked by smackjack 11 years ago

I think not. I googled it and found a thread that said she could. So, can i attack with mother of runes and tap her to give herself protection from a color? I think not because creatures gets taped as soon as they are declared attackers right? Then you can not activate an ability that has tap in its cost? Am i right?

smackjack says... #1

October 15, 2013 5:29 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... Accepted answer #2

You have to tap Mother of Runes to attack, and you have to tap Mother of Runes to activate her ability. You can't do both with the same tap.

it Is possible for her to giver herself protection while attacking IF you give Mother of Runes vigilance, or if you untap Mother of Runes somehow.

October 15, 2013 5:37 p.m.

Replayced says... #3

You answered your own question. She is tapped when declared attacking.

October 15, 2013 5:38 p.m.

smackjack says... #4

Thats what i thought. Thanks for clearing this up :)

October 15, 2013 5:43 p.m.

Sam_I_am says... #5

Only read this if you want a more full and precise analysis of the rules.

When you attack, You declare your attackers and you tap them during the declare attackers step. Tapping the creature isn't a cost per-se, Attacking just causes a creature to become tapped.(unless the creature has vigilance).

You can not declare a tapped creature as an attacker.

you do not get priority between the times when you declare attackers, and when your creatures become tapped, and you can only activate abilities like that of Mother of Runes when you have priority.

As a result of this, you cannot both activate Mother of Runes and use it's ability, unless you untap it or unless it has vigilance.

October 15, 2013 5:44 p.m.

smackjack says... #6

Thanks sam :)

October 15, 2013 5:52 p.m.

This discussion has been closed