Can Mayael pull out the new Gods if the devotion requirement isn't met?
Asked by ChiefWannaHacka 11 years ago
I vaguely remember something about cards having certain traits at all times, so in this scenario what happens?
EDH match, though relevant in any deck using the two cards.
Activate Mayael the Anima and hit Heliod. I only have 4 W mana symbols on the battlefield.Is Heliod a valid target for Mayael?
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
@ChiefWannaHacka: The abilities you mentioned are characteristic-defining abilities. These abilities function in all zones. Also, Mayael the Anima 's ability doesn't target.
The Theros God creatures do not have CDAs. Instead, they have static abilities that function only while those cards are permanents. This means that the Gods will be legendary enchantment creatures while in the library, so Mayael the Anima 's ability can find them.
This was confirmed in a twitter post, although I expect it to be reconfirmed when the Theros FAQ is released and later when the CR is updated.
September 2, 2013 7:51 p.m.
ChiefWannaHacka says... #3
Ahhh thank you for that guys, characteristic-defining abilities is burnt into the memory now. Also @Epochalyptik, saying she targeted was just a slip in phrasing, or else anything with shroud would be sad lol.
September 2, 2013 8:05 p.m.
Also, shroud does not work while not on the battlefield, so she could target shroud creatures even if her ability did target.
diamondmx says... #1
Yes you can fetch these cards. The static ability that removes the creature type does not work off the battlefield, so it's a creature card.
September 2, 2013 7:27 p.m.