Can I tap multiple Plains when using Spirit Bond and get multiple 1/1 flying spirit tokens?

Asked by mdeitrickson 10 years ago

If I were put Spirit Bond on the field and then summon a creature, can I tap 3 Plains and get 3 1/1 tokens? Or can you only tap one Plains and get 1/1 token, when summoning one creature?

Slycne says... Accepted answer #1

Remember to link the card in question. Spirit Bonds.

  • Whenever a nontoken creature enters the battlefield under your control, you may pay White. If you do, put a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying onto the battlefield.

When a nontoken creature enters the battlefield this ability triggers and goes on the stack. It's only worded to give you the option of paying for it or not. You can't pay for it multiple times since it only triggers once per creature.

See also the Gatherer ruling.

  • You decide whether to pay W as the triggered ability resolves. You may only pay W and create a Spirit token once per nontoken creature.
May 4, 2015 12:14 p.m.

Trockenmatt says... #2

Be sure to link your cards; Spirit Bonds. No, you cannot. Bonds is a triggered ability, so you can only do it once per Bonds on the field. Hope this helped!

May 4, 2015 12:16 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Answer reselected.

The fact that it's a triggered ability is not significant. What's significant is that the ability offers a choice between paying a set cost and not paying that cost. It doesn't allow you to pay multiple times because the wording of the ability doesn't ask you to make more than one payment.

May 4, 2015 12:31 p.m.

This discussion has been closed