Can I double regenerate a creature.

Asked by Zerafiall 11 years ago

Ok. I know If I pay the Regen cost. It put's a "Buble" on that creature that creature. Let's say (In this case I'm using Dimir House Guard ) and I use it to sac two other creatures (Just as a Sac outlet) But it now has two "Bubles" on it does that meen I could let it be killed twice (that turn) and be good to go. Or would I need to wait for it to be killed the first time before I can give it it's seccond "Buble"

I think the real question is When the replacment effect is triggered, does all the effects get triggered or may I let only one of the effects trigger?

Quoting the rule itself for reference.

501.5. Regenerate

501.5a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, Regenerate [permanent] means The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

501.5b If the effect of a static ability regenerates a permanent, it replaces destruction with an alternate effect each time that permanent would be destroyed. In this case, Regenerate [permanent] means Instead remove all damage from [permanent] and tap it. If its an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

Replacement effects don't trigger, and they aren't handled the same way as triggers.

Replacement effects just apply. When multiple replacement effects would apply to an event, the affected player, or the controller of the affected object, chooses the order in which they apply. If, after the first effect is applied, any other effects could apply to the situation, you then choose a second effect. The process is repeated until no effects could apply.

Here, only one replacement effect can apply because the creature would no longer be destroyed after the first application. The creature will retain the second regeneration shield because the shield is only consumed when the effect is applied.

February 6, 2014 7:14 p.m.

Zerafiall says... #2

Thank you, sir!

February 6, 2014 7:24 p.m.

This discussion has been closed