Can Devoid creatures be part of a Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger Commander deck? If so can I cast them?
Asked by Kryogenyc 9 years ago
If so can I cast them? Since my mana will only produce colorless or not? Confused?
If so can I cast them? Since my mana will only produce colorless or not? Confused?
FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1
Negative. Commander is very particular about the relationship between cards in a commander deck and a commander's color identity. Here it is in rules terms:
903.5c A card can be included in a Commander deck only if every color in its color identity is also found in the color identity of the decks commander.
903.4 The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that cards mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).
A card with Devoid has no color, but it has a color identity of all mana symbols in its casting cost and its rules text. The "colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities" doesn't affect color identity with devoid because colorless is not a color, and it would be the sum of all colors in those fields and not one defined color.
105.1 There are five colors in the Magic game: white, blue, black, red, and green.
105.2c A colorless object has no color.
November 13, 2015 10:50 p.m. Edited.