Can a creature with hexproof be exchanged for perplexing chimera?

Asked by Nuubi 2 years ago

So for instance my opponent cast a creature with hexproof. I have Perplexing Chimera on the board. Would I be able to exchange the chimera for the creature with hexproof? My initial thought is no, because the card has to be “cast” for me to steal it so hexproof would be in effect, but I wasn’t sure if the exchange would happen before the stack resolved.

StupidDroid says... Accepted answer #1

Hexproof can only apply to permanents and players. If your opponent plays something like a Conifer Strider , it can still be the target of spells or abilities before it resolves. Therefore, hexproof doesn't affect Perplexing Chimera .

As a side note, hexproof only says "This permanent can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control." (Rule 702.11b). Since Perplexing Chimera 's ability doesn't target, it could get around hexproof even if hexproof applied on the stack.

TL;DR: Perplexing Chimera can be used to take control of a spell with hexproof.

April 26, 2019 2:29 p.m.

Nuubi says... #2

Appreciate the help StupidDroid.

April 26, 2019 3:46 p.m.

Please login to comment