Augur of Bolas and Miracles

Asked by thewiredmind 12 years ago

The crux of my question is : For Miracles what exactly does it mean "to be the first card drawn during a turn?". Does the card text have to explicitly say "draw a card" to trigger a miracle?

Scenario: I have Augur of Bolas on the battlefield and during my opponents turn I Cloudshift him and trigger his ability. I look at the top 3 cards and put one of them in my hand. If this card is a miracle card, can I reveal it and cast it for its miracle cost? Or since I "placed" it in my hand, does that not count as a "draw"?

Similar what if I Cloudshift a Archaeomancer on my opponents turn and return a miracle to my hand. I am guessing this doesn't count as a "draw" since it came from my graveyard.

Just wondering if there is a specific ruling about what a "draw" is.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

You only "draw" cards for effects that specifically say "draw", including your regular draw for the turn (the one at the beginning of your draw step; draw draw draw, it doesn't even sound like a word anymore). Anything else is just putting cards into your hand. Augur of Bolas , Archaeomancer , and similar effects that don't say "draw" won't cause a Miracle to occur.

July 31, 2012 1:22 p.m.

This discussion has been closed