attacking a planeswalker
Asked by abenz419 11 years ago
if I have two creatures on the battlefield, can I attack my opponents planeswalker with one and my opponent with the other in the same combat??
patrickloyd says... #2
yes, do not have to attack a creature or planes-walker with all of your creatures. you can pick between a your opponent and your opponent's planes-walker with your creatures.
December 5, 2013 8:06 p.m.
well damn that changes everything.. I was told before that it was either or, not both. They said that essentially planeswalkers are like another player(kind of like a teammate) and since you can't attack two players in the same turn then you can only attack one or the other
December 5, 2013 8:07 p.m.
Worth noting that in normal multiplayer games (non 2HG) you can attack multiple players at the same time.
December 6, 2013 1:10 a.m.
another thing I didn't know, Going way back to when I first started playing magic (around 5th edition), whenever my friends and I played a multiplayer game we always played you could only attack one person a turn. So if 3 people were playing, player C either attacked player A or player B or no one during their combat phase
December 6, 2013 2:24 a.m.
There are some rule variants that do not allow for splitting attacks between multiple players, which is what it sounds like they go by. Even so, that does not prevent you from splitting attacks if the PW is controlled by the same player that you are attacking. Pws may be targeted by things that could target players, but that doesn't make them get considered as another player.
December 6, 2013 4:37 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... #7
@ljs54321: Planeswalkers cannot be targeted by spells or abilities that target players. That's a common misconception. If you cast a spell like Lightning Bolt , you never actually target a planeswalker because a planeswalker is not a player. Lightning Bolt can only target players or creatures. Instead, you target the player and redirect the damage to his or her planeswalker.
December 6, 2013 4:59 a.m.
That's what I meant to say Epochalyptik. I guess accidently waking up a 4am doesn't make me anymore awake than if I had actually been up all night like usual
ljs54321 says... Accepted answer #1
Yes. For each attacking creature, you choose whether that creature attacks the player or planeswalker.
December 5, 2013 7:58 p.m.