Ashnod's Altar vs Split Second
Asked by nochance229 13 years ago
If someone where to Take Possession my creature, can I toss it into card:Ashnod's Altar because split second doesn't stop mana abilities, or is the effect of the altar not a mana ability even though it generates mana?
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
605.1a An activated ability is a mana ability if it meets three criteria: it doesn't have a target, it could put mana into a players mana pool when it resolves, and it's not a loyalty ability. (See rule 606, "Loyalty Abilities.")
702.59a Split second is a static ability that functions only while the spell with split second is on the stack. "Split second" means "As long as this spell is on the stack, players cant cast other spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities."
702.59b Players may activate mana abilities and take special actions while a spell with split second is on the stack. Triggered abilities trigger and are put on the stack as normal while a spell with split second is on the stack.
card:Ashnod's Altar's ability is an activated ability and a mana ability. Therefore, it may be activated at any time, even when a spell or ability with split second is on the stack since split second does not prevent the activation of mana abilities.
Also note that you do not activate Altar in response to something (mana abilities are not responses) and nobody can respond to a mana ability (because it does not use the stack).
August 30, 2011 2:50 a.m.