Oona, Queen of the Fae activated ablility rules question

General forum

Posted on Dec. 21, 2012, 2:08 a.m. by EchoSi3rra

Ok, so my main question is: do you get to see the exiled cards before you choose a color?

As it's written on the card itself it would seem the answer is no, because it says the choose a color part before the exile cards part.

But the thing that confuses me is the gatherer ruling. It states "You target the opponent when you activate Oona's ability. You don't choose the color until the ability resolves.". This would make me think that you do get to see the cards before you choose a color.

Can anyone help me out?

December 21, 2012 2:13 a.m.

The wording on the effect simply means that you don't choose a color until the ability starts to resolve. Your opponent (or yourself) can still activate abilities or cast spells while Oona's ability is on the stack. There's no point in choosing a color if the effect gets countered somehow.

The first thing you do once the effect starts resolving is choose a color. No cards will be exiled until after a color is chosen.

December 21, 2012 2:16 a.m.

*wording on the ruling, not effect.

December 21, 2012 2:17 a.m.

EchoSi3rra says... #5

Thank you for the clarification.

I guess I've been doing it wrong, this is embarrassing lol

December 21, 2012 2:29 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... #6

In general, when you resolve a spell or ability, you do all the steps in the order that they're written. Since the first clause of Oona's ability is the color choice instruction, that's what you do first.

December 21, 2012 2:59 a.m.

This discussion has been closed