How does Survival Cache's rebound work?

General forum

Posted on Feb. 1, 2013, 10:56 a.m. by Dreno33

Survival Cache 's rebound effect...

Does it only work one time? or is it every turn i use its effect? or...

Jimhawk says... #2

The reminder text on the card tells you everything you need to know.

For a card with Rebound, if you cast it from your hand, you exile it as it resolves. Then at the beginning of your next upkeep, you may cast it without paying its mana cost. You only ever have one next upkeep. You only get the rebound effect once.

Rebound won't take effect the second time because you didn't cast it from your hand, but from exile. It will resolve and be placed in your graveyard as a normal part of its resolution.

February 1, 2013 11:04 a.m.

agGravity says... #3

Based on the Ruling from Gatherer

If you cast a spell with rebound from your hand and it resolves, it isn't put into your graveyard. Rather, it's exiled directly from the stack. Effects that care about cards being put into your graveyard won't do anything.

At the beginning of your upkeep, all delayed triggered abilities created by rebound effects trigger. You may handle them in any order. If you want to cast a card this way, you do so as part of the resolution of its delayed triggered ability. Timing restrictions based on the card's type (if it's a sorcery) are ignored. Other restrictions are not (such as the one from Rule of Law).

If you cast a card from exile this way, it will go to your graveyard when it resolves or is countered. It won't go back to exile.

Checking Gatherer ruling or the Comprehensive Rules Book from wizards can usually help answering your most basic questions.

February 1, 2013 11:04 a.m.

Dreno33 says... #4

oh i see... dam. I had it in my deck, deck:unblockable-lifelink-1, but now i see it might not be the best option... thanks guys. quick responses ALWAYS. i love it. i think i'll just replace 2 Survival Cache with 2 Spidersilk Net b/c i need to block some fliers anyways...

thanks!

February 1, 2013 11:11 a.m.

This discussion has been closed