Colgate Deckspert

Please login to comment

Said on 99 Cards Every ......

#1

Why Armageddon, but no Ravages of War? They are functionally identical.

July 21, 2017 8:34 p.m.

*Olivia, Mobilized for War card is creature card in all zones, it's creature only in battlefield and creature spell only on stack.

Then to the actual question. "Legend rule" aka 704.5k says: "If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners graveyards. This is called the legend rule." Then we need to know what is name of card and how to compare whether they are same or not.

201.1 tells us: "The name of a card is printed on its upper left corner." and 201.2a tells us: "Two objects have the same name if their names are identical." and else comes from 201.2c: "Two or more objects have different names if there are no names that both objects have in common."

That should be enough rules to solve the problem. Let's look at upper left corner. There we can see "Olivia Voldaren" as a name of Olivia Voldaren and "Olivia, Mobilized for War" as a name of Olivia, Mobilized for War. "Olivia Voldaren" is different string of characters than "Olivia, Mobilized for War". They are only names of those cards so they fulfill condition for 201.2c, which means they have different names.704.5k checks for same name so it does not hit Olivia Voldaren and Olivia, Mobilized for War.

July 20, 2017 10:34 a.m.

Said on What if I ......

#3

It does only what it says it does. Exiled card does not return.

406.6: An object may have one ability printed on it that causes one or more cards to be exiled, and another ability that refers either to "the exiled cards" or to cards "exiled with [this object]." These abilities are linked: the second refers only to cards that have been exiled due to the first. See rule 607, "Linked Abilities."

Second ability is linked to first and it refers only to card exiled with first ability, not any other possible exiled cards. So the current Exclusion Ritual only cares about card exiled with it's first ability. So only one card is uncastable.

July 20, 2017 7:30 a.m.

And yes they can target

July 20, 2017 7:16 a.m.

No, you don't need to be fluent english grammar guru to understand the game. 114.1a-114.1e explains all instances of target quite simply.

114.1a: An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. (If an activated or triggered ability of an instant or sorcery uses the word target, that ability is targeted, but the spell is not.)

114.1b: Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn't target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)

114.1c: An activated ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is activated; see rule 602.2b.

114.1d: A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is put on the stack; see rule 603.3d.

114.1e: Some keyword abilities, such as equip and provoke, represent targeted activated or triggered abilities. In those cases, the phrase "target [something]" appears in the rule for that keyword ability rather than in the ability itself. (The keyword's reminder text will often contain the word "target.") See rule 702, "Keyword Abilities."

These rules do not tell about other cases, whether all of them do not target or are there some that target, but other cases do not target. I wish rules would make it clear by adding something riko "These are the only cases, which target." or replacing 'if's with 'iff's moving 114.1e to 114.1a-d.

July 20, 2017 7:16 a.m.

Said on If I equipped ......

#6

E also stands for "Fortified" and "cannot be damaged" just simply prevents damage. With Leyline of Punishment out even Progenitus can be dealt damage.

July 19, 2017 10:59 a.m.

Said on Help Explaining...

#7

Omen Machine makes similar lock with Teferi, hits only future draws, but hits those draws harder, no topdeck Ulamog nor cycling shenanigans save them from there.

July 17, 2017 11:04 a.m.

116.3c: If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.

Yes you get the priority after activating ability of Heartless Hidetsugu. If you kick Molten Disaster, opponent can't cast spells nor activate nonmana abilities until Molten Disaster leaves the stack and SBA's are checked. Molten Disaster deals damage to players too and this might make Heartless Hidetsugu nonlethal.

July 17, 2017 10:55 a.m.

If your opponent response to first action of Olivia's Dragoon, it means ability is still in stack and dragoon does not have flying yet.

July 16, 2017 4:25 p.m.

That ability does not deal damage.

July 16, 2017 5:26 a.m.

Said on Solemnity...

#11

Choose accepted answer to stop question seem like unanswered and try to be more specific next time you ask rules question.

July 15, 2017 4:42 a.m.

LuckyJack choose the accepted answer, so question stops showing as unanswered.

July 14, 2017 2:24 p.m.

Said on Scarab God on ......

#13

Rhadamanthus, you can smash favorite button, if you have mtgcardsmith-account. I just made there account to demonstrate the rules interaction.

July 14, 2017 12:58 p.m.

Said on Scarab God on ......

#14

"613.1. The values of an objects characteristics are determined by starting with the actual object. For a card, that means the values of the characteristics printed on that card. For a token or a copy of a spell or card, that means the values of the characteristics defined by the effect that created it. Then all applicable continuous effects are applied in a series of layers in the following order:"

"706.9d When applying a copy effect that doesnt copy a certain characteristic, retains an original value for a certain characteristic, or modifies the final value of a certain characteristic, any characteristic-defining ability (see rule 604.3) of the object being copied that defines that characteristic is not copied. If that characteristic is color, any color indicator (see rule 204) of that object is also not copied."

So for each one of them we start with the effect that created the token aka The Scarab God's ability. So Kruphix, God of Horizons would look like this. Angry Mob would be simply 4/4 Black Zombie with trample. Sakashima's Student 4/4 Black Zombie with student's copy ability if you choose to not copy anything, if you choose to copy it's copy except it is Ninja in addition to it's other creature types. Shapeshifter you keep choosing numbers but it has no longer it's CDA defining P/T. Rune-Tail, Kitsune Ascendant may flip. It stays Black, if it flips.

July 14, 2017 10:55 a.m.

Said on If I pay ......

#15

No, Conspire is additional cost and can only be payed when casting the spell. Copies are just put onto stack. They are never cast, so you can't pay Conspire cost.

July 13, 2017 2 p.m.

Said on If I pay ......

#16

Yes Giantbaiting is multicolored spell and thus casting it triggers Lobber Crew.

July 13, 2017 1:22 p.m.

Said on Can I use ......

#17

Yes, Pacification Array enchanted with Ice Over does not untap during its controller's untap steps.

July 13, 2017 1:19 p.m.

Scrap Mastery there are many places to put whole pile from discard, expel and facedown pile, but play is not one of them. Also s sents to expel, d to discard, to to top, y to bottom, but there is no hotkey for putting to hand or play. Putting cards one at a time from expel to play is annoying, but it would be more bearable if there was hotkey for it at least.

July 11, 2017 7:15 a.m.

Followers

tompreos

Decks

Competitive North-Korean LD

Modern Colgate

SCORE: 1 | 969 VIEWS | IN 1 FOLDER

Quest Magic: Sister of the Soul

Quest Magic* Colgate

SCORE: 1 | 1 COMMENT | 543 VIEWS

Steel is tempered for the myrz

Legacy* Colgate

9 COMMENTS | 352 VIEWS

Cubes

cube chart

Legacy Cube *P*

Colgate — 4 months ago

SCORE 0 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 6

cube chart

Red cube wins *P*

Colgate — 4 months ago

SCORE 0 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 3

cube chart

EDH Cube

Colgate — 1 year ago

SCORE 0 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 43

cube chart

Colgate — 5 years ago

SCORE 0 | COMMENTS 0 | VIEWS 298

Finished Decks 461
Prototype Decks 73
Drafts 0
Avg. deck rating 3.00
T/O Rank 476
Helper Rank None yet
Good Card Suggestions 65
Last activity 12 hours
Joined 5 years