If I flash in a creature on my opponent's turn, Can I attack with on my turn?

Asked by Sniperops 4 years ago

because the rulebook says 302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule.

And I was thinking that if I flash it in on my opponent's turn, I haven't controlled it since my most recent turn.

SandyDufresne says... #1

Yes because the game checks to see if the creature was under your control for at least the upkeep of the turn you want to use it.

April 13, 2013 12:49 p.m.

Devonin says... #2

If you flash a creature in at the end of an opponent's turn, you then have an untap step, then an upkeep, then a main phase. In that main phase if you want to activate abilities of that creature, or in the following attack phase you want to attack with it, it says "Did you control it since the start of this turn?" to which the answer is "yes"

April 13, 2013 12:52 p.m.

Devonin says... Accepted answer #3

IE: "most recent turn" doesn't mean "The turn before this one" it means "The turn you're in the middle of" and since you controlled it from the end of your opponent's previous turn, you were already controlling it when this turn began.

April 13, 2013 12:52 p.m.

SandyDufresne says... #4

"the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began" This part of the rule can be interpreted to include your current turn.

April 13, 2013 12:53 p.m.

Goody says... #5

You can think of it this way: A creature has summoning sickness whenever it comes into play/changes controllers until the beginning of its controller's next turn. That's why cards like Act of Treason HAVE to give the creature haste in order to be useful, or all creatures taken from an opponent in this way would have summoning sickness for that turn, and then be given back.

Flashing in a creature at the end of an opponent's turn is a pretty effective way of getting around this while keeping your creature out of danger from sorcery-speed dangers.

April 15, 2013 4:01 a.m.

Mumatay says... #6

I have another doubt: if I flash a creature on my opponents turn, can I block with these creature at these turn? I mean, at the time.

January 23, 2016 11:57 a.m.

Goody says... #7

Yes, as long as you're doing it before the Declare blockers step

January 23, 2016 3:51 p.m.

lightcolour says... #8

How about the reverse ?I cast a creature on my turn; by the opponent's turn. Can I use it's tap activated ability ?

February 7, 2017 2:42 a.m.

Goody says... #9

@lightcolour, no. You need to control the creature since the beginning of YOUR most recent turn, not your opponent's. The creature will have summoning sickness during your opponent's turn and until your next turn begins.

Also, this thread is over a year old - try to create a new thread for a question if there's no recent threads that answer it.

February 7, 2017 11:09 a.m.

Please login to comment