With Odric Master Tactician, can you decide that none of the enemy's creatures can block. Also if you are able to manipulate a hexproof creature with the ablility?
Asked by Sorryu 12 years ago
I was going against an opponent and used the card's effect; however he said that I was not able to make his creatures not to block. Also, about the hexproof, I have searched many other websites and they said that it is not a target but a choosing and how they were two different things.
I would appreciate it if someone were to clear this up for me.
Odric, Master Tactician 's ability allows you to prevent your creatures being blocked.
Gatherer ruling:7/1/2012 You can decide that a creature won't block.
Also, you can manipulate Hexproof or Shroud creatures, as Odric's ability doesn't target. You only target when the text of the card/ability says the word 'target'.
November 15, 2012 10:56 a.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #3
Odric, Master Tactician 's ability does exactly what it says it does: you choose which creatures block and how they do it. Choosing 0 creatures that will block is a perfectly valid choice.
Odric's ability doesn't use the word "target", so it doesn't target. Creatures with hexproof, shroud, or protection can still be affected by it.
bdrichar says... #1
The wording is such that creatures are "chosen" instead of "targeted". This gets around hexproof/shroud because those only work with the keyword "target". The wording is also such that you can decide that a creature does not block; see the first ruling on Gatherer.
http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=259670
November 15, 2012 10:56 a.m.