When milling someone, when do you win?

Asked by ChaosParadox 12 years ago

The question might have been worded weird. if you mill someone 7 cards and they have 5 in their deck, do you win? or do they have 0 until they draw, and you actually don't win until they attempt to draw.

Dake says... #1

The next time they have to mill and can't, or have to draw and can't. The game still goes on if they have zero cards and don't have to mill or draw at that moment. They lose when they have zero cards and have to do one of the two.

November 8, 2012 8:09 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

The affected player will mill until he or she has 0 cards left. Then, the next time that player would draw a card, he or she loses as a state-based action.

November 8, 2012 8:10 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

@Dake: A player doesn't lose when he or she has to mill from an empty library. He or she just doesn't mill anything.

November 8, 2012 8:11 p.m.

Dake says... #4

I'm sorry. You have to wait till they draw. I double checked and you do actually have to try to draw. My bad for mis-information. Basically you can just end your trun when they have no cards though. But yes, you have to wait till they have to draw.

November 8, 2012 8:12 p.m.

Dake says... #5

lol thanks. just checked that. I've totally played that wrong!

November 8, 2012 8:13 p.m.

Carsf says... #6

Official rule:

120.4. A player who attempts to draw a card from a library with no cards in it loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) #

November 8, 2012 8:13 p.m.

Carsf says... #7

Oh, and milling isn't the same as drawing. Mind Sculpt oracle:

You can cast Mind Sculpt no matter how many cards are in the opponent's library. If there are fewer than seven, the opponent will put all of them into his or her graveyard.

November 8, 2012 8:15 p.m.

rushtowait says... #8

Or maybe this ?

104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the remaining cards, and then loses the game the next time a player would receive priority. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)

November 8, 2012 8:16 p.m.

rushtowait says... #9

Oh wow didn't know the rules was "next time a player receive priority" as compared to "next time the player would draw a card" as I thought it was supposed to be.

November 8, 2012 8:18 p.m.

ChaosParadox says... #10

so from what the candy cane says, its the next time he has priority after having nothing in that player's deck. So im guessing it is if you mill the enemy to 0 and do anything that passes priority, you win.

November 8, 2012 8:46 p.m.

ChaosParadox says... #11

scratch that, i have reread each of these and looked up a few rules. it is next priority after any effect causes the player to draw (including draw phase). Thanks all.

November 8, 2012 8:51 p.m.

A player losing for being required to draw from an empty library is a state-based action (see post #2). SBAs are performed right after anything resolves or happens and just before players receive priority. If an effect causes an opponent to attempt to draw from a library with 0 cards, the effect will continue to resolve as completely as it can and then that player will lose the game.

November 8, 2012 8:52 p.m.

Looks like you beat me to it.

November 8, 2012 8:52 p.m.

ChaosParadox says... #14

Yeah, i gave you the answer thing. Thanks.

November 8, 2012 8:53 p.m.

This discussion has been closed