Targets for Volcanic Offering

Asked by Emzed 10 years ago

Question about a newly spoiled card from C14: If i cast Volcanic Offering (no link yet, rules text: Instant - Destroy target nonbasic land you don't control and target nonbasic land of an opponent's choice you don't control. Volcanic Offering deals 7 damage to target creature you don't control and 7 Damage to target creature of an opponent's choice you don't control.) targetting a land and a creature, can my opponent choose to target the same land and the same creature or does he need to choose different targets?

FancyTuesday says... Accepted answer #1

They may choose the same targets because the ability uses the word "target" multiple times.

114.3 The same target cant be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word target on a spell or ability. If the spell or ability uses the word target in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word target (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). This rule applies both when choosing targets for a spell or ability and when changing targets or choosing new targets for a spell or ability (see rule 114.6).

November 1, 2014 7:08 p.m.

GreatSword says... #2

In this case, yes, you and an opponent may choose the same land and/or creature.

  • 601.2c.....The same target cant be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word target on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word target in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word target (as long as it fits the targeting criteria).
November 1, 2014 7:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed