Tapping defending creatures still do combat damage?
Asked by Hydra1432 13 years ago
Example if I tap 5 1/1 Myr tokens for Myr Turbine that are blocking a 5/5 do they still do damage to the 5/5 even though they are now tapped?
shamanicgreen says... #2
Tapping a creature doesn't remove it from combat though.
506.4. A permanent is removed from combat if it leaves the battlefield, if its controller changes, if it phases out, if an effect specifically removes it from combat, if its a planeswalker thats being attacked and stops being a planeswalker, or if its an attacking or blocking creature that regenerates (see rule 701.11) or stops being a creature. A creature thats removed from combat stops being an attacking, blocking, blocked, and/or unblocked creature. A planeswalker thats removed from combat stops being attacked.
So the tapped myr still deal combat damage.
September 18, 2011 6:56 p.m.
shamanicgreen says... Accepted answer #3
Also: 506.4b Tapping or untapping a creature thats already been declared as an attacker or blocker doesnt remove it from combat and doesnt prevent its combat damage.
(Sorry for the double post)
September 18, 2011 6:58 p.m.
Spoofed is incorrect.
Tapping a blocking creature does not remove it from combat. Thus, it will still deal damage and be dealt damage.
Spoofed says... #1
No.
509.2a During the declare blockers step, if a blocking creature is removed from combat or a spell or ability causes it to stop blocking an attacking creature, the blocking creature is removed from all relevant damage assignment orders. The relative order among the remaining blocking creatures is unchanged.
However, you can still use the tokens to block.
509.1h An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked creature; one with no creatures declared as blockers for it becomes an unblocked creature. This remains unchanged until the creature is removed from combat, an effect says that it becomes blocked or unblocked, or the combat phase ends, whichever comes first. A creature remains blocked even if all the creatures blocking it are removed from combat
September 18, 2011 6:23 p.m.