Spite / Malice which colour is it?
Asked by hyena69 9 years ago
Split cards, when you only play one half, do they have only that half's colur or both halves. For instance can the Malice part target a creature with Protection from Blue?
Thanks :-)
Split cards, when you only play one half, do they have only that half's colur or both halves. For instance can the Malice part target a creature with Protection from Blue?
Thanks :-)
Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #1
708.2. In every zone except the stack, split cards have two sets of characteristics and two converted mana costs. As long as a split card is a spell on the stack and wasnt cast using fuse (see rule 702.101, Fuse), only the characteristics of the half being cast exist. The other halfs characteristics are treated as though they didnt exist. A split card thats a spell on the stack and was cast using fuse has two sets of characteristics and one converted mana cost. Its converted mana cost is equal to the total amount of mana in its two mana costs, regardless of color.
708.2a If a player casts a split card without using fuse, that player chooses which half of that split card he or she is casting before putting it onto the stack. Only that half is evaluated to see if it can be cast. Only that half is considered to be put onto the stack.
If you only cast Spite/Malice and use the Malice half, it is only a black spell, the blue half doesn't exist.
February 20, 2016 7:56 p.m.