Ruling on Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet

Asked by Shadowman0369 9 years ago

I tried looking this up but didn't find the answer I was looking for. Say a creature sent by Kalitas, Traitor of Ghet doesn't go to exile, does the controller of Kalitas still get the token. As an example to help explain: I am in a commander game and my opponent destroys my commander. Since I didn't allow my commander to be exiled and sent him to the command zone, would my oppenet get the zombie token? Thanks in advance for the help.

Yes the token would show up. It's not dependent on if the creature is actually exiled or not.

March 26, 2016 11:38 p.m.

MagicalHacker says... #2

No he wouldn't. Because it never goes to the graveyard due to the replacement effect moving it to the command zone, there is nothing to replace that makes the token in the first place.

March 27, 2016 12:06 a.m.

GearNoir says... #3

From the official Commander rules:

9. If a Commander would be put into a library, hand, graveyard or exile from anywhere, its owner may choose to move it to the command zone instead.

This is a replacement effect. It applies last and may apply multiple times to an event.

The creature never goes to the original destination zone and will not trigger abilities that trigger based on going there (e.g. "dies" triggers).

http://mtgcommander.net/rules.php

March 27, 2016 12:28 a.m.

Raging_Squiggle says... Accepted answer #4

Derp. Correction:

There are 2 replacement effects that are modifying where your commander goes.

  • sending it to the CZ.

  • sending it to exile

Whoever's commander is being affected gets to choose which one to apply first, and the other one doesn't happen at all.

If the Command Zone is applied first. It goes there and no token is made.

If exile is chosen, the commander goes to the exile zone and a token is created.

March 27, 2016 12:31 a.m.

Also note that Kalitas' second ability isn't triggered. Not even the part that generates the zombie. So only the first and second paragraphs of that ruling are relevant here.

March 27, 2016 12:35 a.m.

MagicalHacker says... #6

From the rule book:

616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected objects controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. If two or more players have to make these choices at the same time, choices are made in APNAP order (see rule 101.4).

March 27, 2016 8:39 a.m.

This discussion has been closed