Replicate and Overload

Asked by Wave_Sine 11 years ago

If I control a Djinn Illuminatus, and it gives Mizzium Mortars or any other Overload spell Replicate, would the replicate cost be equal to the spells original CMC? I'm guessing that that would be the case, but am not sure.

Emrakool says... #1

The replicate cost is equal to the printed mana cost on the top right corner of the card. However, what makes things great here is if you pay the overload cost of a spell and then replicate it the overloaded effect will apply to the copy.

In effect, you can cast Mizzium Mortars for its overload cost with Djinn Illuminatus on the battlefield, and replicate for 1R. Thus for 4RRRR you can have the original overloaded Mizzium Mortars and its copy deal 8 damage to each creature you don't control.

August 1, 2013 12:55 a.m.

Emrakool says... Accepted answer #2

Here is also part of the ruling explaining why the copies will be overloaded.

706.10. To copy a spell or activated ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isnt cast and a copy of an activated ability isnt activated. A copy of a spell or ability copies both the characteristics of the spell or ability and all decisions made for it, including modes, targets, the value of X, and additional or alternative costs.

Since overload is an alternative cost, each copy made with the replicate ability will also be overloaded. Also, so it doesn't seem like I'm saying that all replicate costs are equal to the spell's mana cost, it's printed on Djinn Illuminatus that the replicate cost is equal to the spell's mana cost.

August 1, 2013 1:07 a.m.

This discussion has been closed