quenchable fire in with a mono red edh
Asked by blackstarquin 13 years ago
Would i be able to use quenchable fire if the conflicting mana symbol shown in it is a cost for the opponent to stop the effect, but not related to anything that i myself would have to pay?
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2
Whether the mana symbol affects you or not, it is still part of the card, and that means it's part of the color identity of that card. Therefore, you may not use it in a mono-red EDH deck.
903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card's mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).
Jarrod_0067 says... #1
No you can't. It's stupid
December 11, 2011 5:45 p.m.