possible dumb question on double strike
Asked by swkelly89 11 years ago
say a 2/2 with double strike deals damage unblocked. will it deal 4 damage to the player? or does double strike only trigger when it blocks/becomes blocked
RedCloud2012 says... #2
Double strike is an ability that happens whenever the double strike creature deals combat damage. It isn't a triggered ability so there isn't a delay before it works and it dosn't go on the stack.
November 20, 2013 12:50 p.m.
UncleJackNasty says... #3
Yes, it would deal 4,
Double strike means that the creature with it deal First Strike, and it also deal Regular combat, Dealing the damage twice.
November 20, 2013 12:56 p.m.
Absinthman says... Accepted answer #4
Double strike (same as first strike) creates an extra combat damage step in the combat phase. Normally, there is only one combat damage step during combat where all creatures involved in combat deal combat damage simultaneously. Now if a creature with first strike or double strike is involved in the combat phase, extra first strike combat damage step is created before the regular combat damage step. Creatures with first strike and double strike deal damage during this extra step. Creatures with double strike however, will deal their combat damage again in the normal damage step (as opposed to creatures with first strike which only deal their combat damage during the first strike combat damage step).
November 20, 2013 12:56 p.m.
RedCloud2012 says... #5
One of the most miscalculated occurances of double strike effects is when the double strike creature also has trample. You should goto wizards.com to the oracle for a complete explanation of double strike and combinations for a full understanding of its machanics.
November 20, 2013 12:58 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #6
@RedCloud2012: Post #2 is somewhat misleading.
Double strike is a static ability that modifies the structure of combat. It doesn't "happen whenever the double strike creature deals combat damage."
November 20, 2013 1:04 p.m.
RedCloud2012 says... #7
I Know its static, where did I call it something else and other than combat damage where else dose double strike apply. I dont see how I was missleading
November 20, 2013 1:19 p.m.
Tradeylouish says... #8
It is misleading because the wording "whenever the double strike creature deals combat damage" happens to be the format of a triggered ability (by using "whenever"). As you explained, this is not the case. Your post also did not acknowledge that double strike creates an extra combat damage step, as some other users have explained.
It's entirely possible that you do have a perfect understanding of how Double strike works, but your answer was written in a confusing way.
November 20, 2013 2:43 p.m.
RedCloud2012 says... #9
I was trying to explain in an easy to understand lamens term sorta way to answer the actual question and the extra combat wasnt part of the question also, I might add the way I used whenever was in normal speaking terms. I wasnt trying to word a new magic card. If answers on here have to be oracle perfect then just link the oracle and be done with it. Don't pick responders to chastise and critique. I didn't see any bitching about the other answer's people gave just mine. Thanks again for isolating me again, makes me feel i'm back in high school again.
November 20, 2013 7:30 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #10
@RedCloud2012: I pointed it out because you gave a misleading answer, and I'd rather not have misleading answers in a section of the site dedicated to clarifying game rules.
November 20, 2013 7:40 p.m.
RedCloud2012 says... #11
In your opinion. I THOUGHT ANSWER #1 WAS MISLEADING
November 20, 2013 7:52 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... #12
That's nice.
Calm down, by the way. I was pointing out the mistake as much for your benefit as anyone else's.
November 20, 2013 7:58 p.m.
Tradeylouish says... #13
In all fairness, post #1 was also somewhat misleading, considering the poster used the word 'activated' (a term which also has a specific meaning in MTG) and also did not detail how double strike actually works.
Anyway, this is nothing to argue over. No one is trying to chastise you, rather they are ensuring everyone understands the rules in question.
DrBear says... #1
It deals damage as though double strike were activated.
November 20, 2013 12:47 p.m.