Markov Blademaster and Double Strike

Asked by Blackday 13 years ago

K, so I feel that Markov Blademaster will when attacking an opponent openly without and blockers actually do 3 damage instead of the two.

I feel this because I see double strike as two separate attacks, which upon the "first strike damage step" (dealing one damage) Markov Blademaster would receive a +1/+1 token, then initiate the "regular damage step" and then deal two damage receiving a second +1/+1 counter.

I am basing this off of other instances of Lifelink and the same virtual question, i was just wondering if anybody has any weigh ins on the subject or if i am right.

Thank You,

BlackDay

rckclimber777 says... Accepted answer #1

You are correct.

There are two separate damage steps between which priority is passed. During the first damage step the blademaster's ability will trigger and go on the stack. During the time between combat damage steps it will resolve putting a counter on it and thus dealing 2 damage during the second damage step for a total of 3. Also after that damage step it will of course receive another counter and will thus be a 3/3 after the combat is complete.

February 10, 2012 5:16 p.m.

killroy726 says... #2

Here is the official ruling from magiccards.info: The +1/+1 counter isn't put on Markov Blademaster in time to increase the amount of combat damage dealt during that combat step. However, the +1/+1 counter put on Markov Blademaster when first-strike damage is dealt will increase the amount of damage dealt during the regular combat damage step. So in other words yes you are right

February 10, 2012 6:10 p.m.

This discussion has been closed