Is Elbrus, the Binding Blade/Withengar Unbound legal in any edh deck?
Asked by Crippler55 13 years ago
I'm wondering if is allowed to be played in any edh deck that doesn't run black as one of its colors.
He can only be in an edh deck where your general has the color identity black.
February 24, 2012 1:29 a.m.
No. he cant be used. this has been asked several times. at any time a double faced card is considered its front face unless its on the battle field that mean It Isn't a creature at the time u would consider it a commander, and therefor cannot be used as a commander.
February 24, 2012 1:53 a.m.
also the only way to even acknowledge its back faced side is if it was transformed in play from its front face.
February 24, 2012 1:54 a.m.
Totally feel like an idiot now. I thought you were asking if he could be used as a commander.
on the real topic, it can only be used in a deck where the commanders color is at least black, same as the new garruk needs to be used in at least black, and green.
February 24, 2012 1:57 a.m.
Or get your local meta to allow you to use it otherwise if it won't break games :-)
February 24, 2012 4:35 a.m.
Elbrus/Withengar is considered black as everyone's already said. The rule for DFCs is that it's color identity is the color or colors on both sides of the card so is black/green because , it's considered blue/red because his flipped side, Homicidal Brute , is red. In the case of Elbrus, the front is colorless and the back is black so it is considered a black card as far as Commander/EDH is concerned.
February 24, 2012 5 a.m.
Nerdkid, no. Color identity is a specific rule in regards to commander and what cards are allowed to go into a deck. is flipped to it's front, it's a green card.
As the rules for DFCs say, a DFC is always seen as it's front face and nothing else, unless it's on the battlefield, flipped. In all other zones, it's always it's front face showing.
February 24, 2012 12:24 p.m.
What djgunn is true, and the rules are a little contradictory, but you have to keep in mind the rule we've been talking about is only for deck construction for EDH/Commander. That is the only time you use both sides of a DFC to determine color identity. Maybe I should have specified that.
February 24, 2012 1:42 p.m.
The first part of the sentence made no sense I meant to say "What djgunn said is true".
February 24, 2012 1:45 p.m.
I understood what you meant, Messor. When you spend long enough on there durn interwebs, your mind just starts filling in the missing words.
February 24, 2012 2:09 p.m.
Scroobmaster69 says... #13
Even Though this discussion was a long time ago I just want to state that on both sides, according to edh rules, Elbrus is colorless, due to the fact that it has to black mana symbols.
March 15, 2015 8:41 p.m.
Scroobmaster69 says... #14
I meant to say it has no black mana symbols sorry
Shavingfoams says... #1
I believe the color identity of both sides of a double faced card have to be within your general's color identities.
February 24, 2012 1:12 a.m.