Illusions

Asked by Age 12 years ago

Do ALL illusions suffer the sacrifice text found on cards such as Phantasmal Bear ?

card:Jace's Phantasm does not share this same text found on phantasmal bear does this mean it does not suffer this same draw back, or is there some global rule in magic that all illusions must be sac'ed once targeted?

funkalunk says... #1

To my knowledge there is not a single creature type that had a "global rule". Wall's used to, but they've been changed to have the Defender ability.

So no, it doesn't have that drawback.

August 31, 2012 1:42 a.m.

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #2

A card only has an ability if that ability is written on that card or granted by some effect created by another ability. Since card:Jace's Phantasm doesn't have the sacrifice ability of Phantasmal Bear , it won't get sacrificed when it's targeted by something. Similarly, Myr Galvanizer doesn't tap for mana despite there being a large number of other Myr with mana abilities.

August 31, 2012 1:52 a.m.

This discussion has been closed