Fight or Flight question?

Asked by seulung 13 years ago

if i have fight or flight in play and i seperate my opponents creatures, and in one pile there is a creature that has to attack can my opponent chose the other pileif so what happens with the creature that has to attack

Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1

This is the Oracle text of Fight or FlightMTG Card: Fight or Flight:

At the beginning of each opponent's combat, separate all creatures that player controls into two piles. Only creatures in the pile of his or her choice can attack this turn.

Since the creature is in the unselected pile, it cannot attack this turn. Often, must-attack abilities and effects are worded to say "attack if able," and since the creature is unable in this instance, it will not attack.

March 16, 2012 3:43 p.m.

seulung says... #2

ok thanks well there goes my lockdown idea

March 16, 2012 3:53 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

An interesting note is that if you have multiple Fight or FlightMTG Card: Fight or Flights out, only creatures that were chosen during each ability's resolution may attack.

March 16, 2012 3:57 p.m.

KorApprentice says... #4

That is because there is both a 'can' effect (only creatures in the chosen pile can attack), and a 'can't' effect (creatures not in the chosen pile can't attack) present, therefore the can't effect takes precedence. From the MTG Comprehensive Rulebook:

101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it cant happen, the cant effect takes precedence.

I find it interesting that most gatherer oracle rulings are already covered in the Comprehensive Rulebook. Although, I suppose many players don't even own a Comprehensive Rulebook or have ever read one.

March 16, 2012 5:02 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... #5

FYI, because attacking and blocking requirements and restrictions aren't always written with simple "can"/"can't" duality (for example, the restrictions created by Fight or FlightMTG Card: Fight or Flight don't use the word "can't" to describe the effect), there are special rules describing how to make legal attacking and blocking assignments. Those rules boil down to: The assignment must obey as many requirements as possible without violating any restrictions.

March 16, 2012 5:12 p.m.

seulung says... #6

thanks guys it was a thought i had for edh deck that i had to check up onand where can u get a comprehensive rule book

March 17, 2012 12:24 a.m.

This discussion has been closed