Double Strike and First Strike

Asked by Olthoi 13 years ago

If a creature has double strike AND first strike.. does it hit twice before my opponent's creature hits it?

Siegfried says... Accepted answer #1

No, you can't get your creature to "double-double strike". Giving first strike to a creature with double strike is irrelevant, as it is already dealing combat damage in the first strike damage step.

September 9, 2011 9:57 p.m.

arobidoux says... #2

702.4d Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step.

702.4e Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant.

So, yes, if your creature had first strike and attacked and did it's damage to your opponents creature and you somehow give it double strike before the first damage step is finished, then your creature will still deal it's damage again in the second combat step.

But Siegfried is correct. Your creatures with double strike will not benefit from another stack of double strike.

September 9, 2011 10:31 p.m.

Spoofed says... #3

I believe what Olthoi was more consered about was either first strike made both strikes from double strike come before the opponent's.

510.5. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

From that you can think of double strike as giving a creature both first strike and a regular strike. Not a special double attack. So no double strike wouldn't stack with first strike.

September 9, 2011 11:16 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #4

510.5. If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike (see rule 702.4) as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.

702.4e Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant.

702.7d Multiple instances of first strike on the same creature are redundant.

Those are the rulings on first and double strike redundancy and as they apply to combat.

In the first combat damage step, creatures with first strike and creatures with double strike deal combat damage. Since these two are factored together, and there are only ever a maximum of two combat damage steps, you can (correctly) infer that granting a creature with first strike the additional ability of double strike does not allow it to deal combat damage three times per combat, and vice versa.

Double strike is essentially giving a creature both first strike and retaining its regular strike. It doesn't stack with first strike since the first combat damage step considers both at the same time.

September 9, 2011 11:54 p.m.

This discussion has been closed