Does sacrificing a creature trigger heroic in that creature?

Asked by capt_pantsless 11 years ago

Say I cast Flesh Allergy and sacrifice my Tormented Hero to pay the casting cost - does that trigger the heroic life-loss thing on the Hero?

I mean, from a thematic standpoint, sometimes heroes need to sacrifice themselves for the greater-good right?

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

Sorry, rules beat flavor.

Heroic triggers when you cast a spell that targets that creature. A spell targets the object it says "target" for; simpley mentioning another thing in the spell doesn't count as targeting. Flesh Allergy is targeting the creature it is destroying; not the creature you sacrifice.

March 1, 2014 5:41 p.m.

megawurmple says... #2

No. Heroic only triggers when a spell you control targets the heroic creature. A card that targets will always use the word "target" in its text. Sacrificing a creature to pay a cost doesn't target, so heroic doesn't trigger.

March 1, 2014 5:42 p.m.

This discussion has been closed