Does "put card in graveyard" equate to "draw a card"?

Asked by PJ_nx01 9 years ago

Say I am using a mill deck, my opponent has just emptied their library due to my Dreadwaters. They were required (for arguments sake) to put 8 cards in their GY, but emptied it at 5. Technically, milling is not drawing (right?), so is that 3 card discrepancy forgotten and their game continues until their draw step, when they have nothing to DRAW from ending his or her game???

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #1

"Draw" means draw. Your opponent doesn't lose until they're supposed to actually draw a card from that empty library.

What happened with your Dreadwaters has to do with a rule that essentially says (paraphrasing): if part of a resolving spell or ability gives you an impossible instruction, you do as much as you can and keep going. Your opponent couldn't mill 8, so instead they milled 5 and the game continued.

April 12, 2016 10:17 p.m.

This discussion has been closed