Does "Protection from Black" prevent the loss of life from Messenger's ETB ability?
Asked by JuggernautFox 12 years ago
So here's what happened:
My opponent is at two life and I cast card:Geralf's Messenger. In response, he casts card:Faith's Shield, naming black. I was confused, because the Messenger's trigger doesn't say that it does the damage, just that the opponent loses life. The judge at our shop basically told me that the pro-black effect would stop my opponent from losing from the ETB trigger, and I ended up losing the match.
I'm sort of inclined to believe that, however I want to know for sure before I just accept it.
MatthewHwang says... #2
He should not have won. Faith's shield would need a permanent, which does not include a player. Therefore, you should have dealt 2 damage and won...
November 23, 2012 1:32 a.m.
thefreakinnyk says... #3
The judge is correct for the simple fact that your opponent had Fateful hour on his side since he was only at two life. This fact means that he doesn't need to target anything and he gains pro-black preventing card:Geralf's Messenger from being able to target him and make him lose the two life.
November 23, 2012 1:41 a.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #5
Protection from X means the following:
This object can't be damaged by X.
This object can't be enchanted or equipped by X.
This object can't be blocked by X.
This object can't be targeted by X.
Since your opponent has protection from black due to card:Faith's Shield's fateful hour effect, you will not be able to target him with card:Geralf's Messenger's ability. You are right in that there is no damage being dealt, but you overlooked the targeting part of the ability, which is what saved him.
November 23, 2012 1:47 a.m.
JuggernautFox says... #6
I kind of figured that might be the case. but the shop judge explained it in such a way that made me feel the need to ask the question. Thanks for clarifying.
CallMeCrazy says... #1
but he cant target himself with that
November 23, 2012 1:24 a.m.