Does Illusory Gains target creature beyond the first?

Asked by magnetcrocodile 10 years ago

Case example:

I cast Illusory Gains on my opponent's Fugitive Wizard and gain control of it, then end turn. The next turn he cast a Frost Walker, triggering my Illusory Gains 2nd ability.

So my question is, does it counts as 'target'?

hyperlocke says... Accepted answer #1

You only need targets, if the card specifically says "target". Aura spells are an exception, they are always targeted.

So when you cast Illusory Gains, it requires a target. The second ability doesn't mention the word "target", so it's not targeted. Frost Walker won't be sacrificed, and Illusory Gains can (and must) be attached to entering creatures with shroud or hexproof.

114.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura's target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, "Enchant"). [...]

114.1d A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase "target [something]," where the "something" is a phrase that describes an object, player, or zone. The target(s) are chosen as the ability is put on the stack; see rule 603.3d.

July 3, 2015 6:14 a.m.

Well, there goes my grand project to make a deck with Illusory Gains and the new Willbreaker card...

Thanks for the clarification, hyperlocke

July 3, 2015 6:18 a.m.

This discussion has been closed