Do I have to pay the same amount of mana to copy a spell with Curse of Echoes?
Asked by TacoLovesSharks 12 years ago
Lets say I cast Curse of Echoes on my opponent and he eventually casts something like Lightning Bolt, do I have to pay one mana(Mountain) so I can copy it too? Do I pay any color of mana? or can I copy it without paying any mana.
hunter9000 says... #2
I can't copy the rules here at work, but 706.10 covers what gets copied when you copy a spell. (value of X, modes, targets, etc)
July 26, 2012 1:38 p.m.
NobodyPicksBulbasaur says... #3
Simply put, you get a free copy of exactly what they did. In this case you would get a free lightning bolt.
If they cast a spell with an X in its casting cost, you get the same value of X for free. You also cannot pay more to change the value of X. X is already set at the time you copy it.
July 26, 2012 9:04 p.m.
Another question on the side that I've always wondered: in a multiplayer game with this attached to some specific player, if everybody else decides to copy a certain spell, how is the stack arranged? I imagine after player A (with the curse) casts the spell, player B decides if he wants to put it on the stack, then player C, and you go in turn order, etc., until you reach player A again.
July 27, 2012 5:41 p.m.
hunter9000 says... #5
CptDanger, that's right. It goes around the table in turn order, starting with the cursed player, then resolves in the reverse order, so the cursed player's spell resolves last.
BrokenZygoma says... Accepted answer #1
Curse of Echoes Allows players (other than the enchanted player) to put a copy of the spell enchanted player cast. You aren't actually casting the spell so you don't have to pay any costs. You just put a copy of the spell on the stack and you choose targets for that spell if it has any. Be sure to read cards carefully. If it says "cast" or "play", you are required to pay the mana cost for the spell. Copies are not cast.
July 26, 2012 10:22 a.m.