Discovery has changed EVERYTHING!!!!

Asked by PhenomeNaked 12 years ago

1) Ok, so this guy was talking about blocking with thragtusk and then orzhov charming it back to hand so it doesn't die. what would happen blocking wise with this?? where does the damage go?

2) me and my friends have been playing on the basis that ou can attack, opponent declares blockers and then you can murder the blocker so that the attackers damage goes to the player? is this correct?

3) can you do it the other way round i.e. attack and then kill the attacker with murder.

proof and sources of answers would be much appreciated so that my fellow players don't just ignore it. I've looked on many forums and they tend to disagree with what the mtg wiki salvation thing says.

thanks in advance

GreatSword says... Accepted answer #1

1) 509.1h: ".... A creature remains blocked even if all the creatures blocking it are removed from combat". A blocked creature deals no damage to the defending player (unless it has trample, then all the damage gets through, as if the blocking creature is toughness 0).

2) See Above.

3) Yes. After every phase of combat (Beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, end of combat) there is a round of priority where players may take actions. The example you cite would take place after the declare attackers phase, before blockers are declared.

March 17, 2013 7:40 p.m.

Absinthman says... #2

This is a link to MTG comprehensive rules, where you can find everything you need, including the point that GreatSword cited above.

March 17, 2013 9:09 p.m.

theemptyquiver says... #3

Best. Question. Ever.

March 17, 2013 11:54 p.m.

This discussion has been closed