Destroying an hideaway land
Asked by TowelGuy 9 years ago
If an hideaway land is destroyed, the facedown card is turned face up or nobody can no longer look at it?
If an hideaway land is destroyed, the facedown card is turned face up or nobody can no longer look at it?
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #1
Nothing instructs you to turn the exiled card face up, so you don't. It remains face down. Any player who was able to look at it will remain able to look at it.
702.74a Hideaway represents a static ability and a triggered ability. "Hideaway" means "This permanent enters the battlefield tapped" and "When this permanent enters the battlefield, look at the top four cards of your library. Exile one of them face down and put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order. The exiled card gains 'Any player who has controlled the permanent that exiled this card may look at this card in the exile zone.'"
406.3. Exiled cards are, by default, kept face up and may be examined by any player at any time. Cards "exiled face down" can't be examined by any player except when instructions allow it. However, once a player is allowed to look at a card exiled face down, that player may continue to look at that card as long as it remains exiled, even if the instruction allowing the player to do so no longer applies. A card exiled face down has no characteristics, but the spell or ability that exiled it may allow it to be played from exile. Unless that card is being cast face down (see rule 707.4), the card is turned face up just before the player announces that he or she is playing the card (see rule 601.2).
June 5, 2016 10:33 a.m.