Creatures switch control
Asked by Shane 13 years ago
When a creature changes control: does it gain summoning sickness? Do any counters on it get removed? Do enter/leave the battlefield abilities trigger?
BrokenZygoma says... #3
The summoning sickness rule: "302.6. A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be activated unless the creature has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control continuously since his or her most recent turn began. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule."
This means that you must have had control of the creature at the instant the turn began for it to not have summoning sickness. Since this isn't possible, even when gaining control of a creature, you would have had to played the creature in your previous turn. So when control switches, this rule resets for the creature. I hope I'm describing this okay.
BrokenZygoma says... Accepted answer #1
It does regain summoning sickness but it keeps all counters and since it never leaves the battlefield no triggers are activated.
May 8, 2012 3:25 a.m.