Cogwork Librarian *list* + Lurking Automaton drafting.
Asked by Sathanas 10 years ago
So during a Conspiracy draft if you a Cogwork Librarian already drafted. Lets say you crack the 2nd pack and open another Cogwork Librarian and a Lurking Automaton can you draft the Cogwork Librarian using your already drafted Cogwork Librarian and then just keep doing that and then draft the Lurking Automaton for essentially +infinite/+infinite. Or does the Lurking Automaton not count the cards in that fashion?
But can't you pick the Cogwork Librarian using your other Cogwork Librarian and then using the one you just picked pick the one you just put back into the pack. Or is there some rule preventing you from picking a Cogwork Librarian that you put into the pack using the Cogwork Librarian you drafted both using the Cogwork Librarian ability?
December 30, 2014 12:27 p.m.
GreatSword says... #3
Read Cogwork Librarian closely: You may pick an additional card from a pack. Then, if you do take an additional card, you put the face-up Cogwork Librarian into the pack. Then you're done, pass the pack down.
December 30, 2014 1:18 p.m.
Epochalyptik says... Accepted answer #4
The drafting and card rules are unclear on this issue, but this is what I take to be the case:
Drafting cards from a pack is somewhat like declaring attackers. You make your selection, then draft those cards. If you draft multiple cards, you draft them in the order you specify, but it's still a single action. If you have a replacement effect that could apply to a draft pick, you apply it as the pick is made.
With Cogwork Librarian, you announce that you're going to apply Cogwork Librarian's effect to the pick. You then draft your two cards, put Cogwork Librarian into the pack, and your draft from that pack is concluded. You pass the pack on. You can't apply the second Cogwork Librarian's effect because you didn't have that Cogwork Librarian as you began your draft pick.
A final and official ruling would come from Matt Tabak (you can contact him through Twitter, I believe).
December 30, 2014 5:15 p.m.
Rhadamanthus says... #6
Putting Cogwork Librarian into the pack is conditional on whether or not you chose to draft an additional card. It isn't yet in the pack when you make that choice, so it can't be picked as the additional card.
GreatSword says... #1
No, this doesn't work. You pick two cards and then put Cogwork Librarian back into the pack, and pass the pack down the line. You don't get to pick another card immediately because you got a Cogwork Librarian.
If you make this pick, you still choose in which order you pick the cards, so you may make Lurking Automaton the 2nd one.
December 29, 2014 6:37 p.m.