Celestial Kirin Destroy Spirits Entering Play?

Asked by Brimstone 12 years ago

If Celestial Kirin is in play, and a spirit creature is cast, will it destroy itself? Why does Celestial Kirin not destroy itself as it comes into play?

Denial048 says... Accepted answer #1

Celestial Kirin s text has been errata'd to say Whenever you cast... When a spirit creature is cast, it is on the stack. This triggers Celestial Kirin s ability, destroying all the Spirits with the same converted mana cost.

Celestial Kirin cannot destroy itself with its own ability, as the ability cannot trigger until it is a permanent, meaning it is on the battlefield already.

March 26, 2013 4:32 a.m.

Jimhawk says... #2

Celestial Kirin 's ability is only in effect once it exists on the battlefield. It will destroy itself if you cast a Spirit or Arcane spell with a converted mana cost of 4 because it will destroy all permanents with that converted mana cost, which includes itself.

March 26, 2013 4:35 a.m.

Brimstone says... #3

Ok, Thank you everyone!

March 26, 2013 4:38 a.m.

Jimhawk says... #4

Just for corrective purposes, Celestial Kirin will destroy ALL permanents with the Spirit or Arcane spell's converted mana cost, not just Spirits, and the Kirin definitely can destroy itself with its own ability at some later time, just not when it is originally cast.

March 26, 2013 4:46 a.m.

Denial048 says... #5

@Jimhawk, yes, I overlooked that part. It does indeed destroy all permanents with that CMC, not just those of the same type.

March 26, 2013 5:10 a.m.

This discussion has been closed